Another bit of dress up…. (my poor bald poppet)

March 8, 2010

another bit of dress up…., originally uploaded by sovereignfugue.

I keep undressing old dolls and tossing them…. I know, I’m not supposed throw away my art (my mom would be pissed) but the older dolls are all filled with millet and shaped weird and their heads aren’t filled right… There are just too many things wrong with them and I don’t think I could sell them or even give them away in good conscience.

Notice her hands? (or lack there of) I’m working on a new experiment…. check back later for more photos and an explanation ^-^

3 Responses to “Another bit of dress up…. (my poor bald poppet)”

  1. zombiegirlie Says:

    WHAAAAAAAT?!?!

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!! OMG!!!

    OK OK before i freak out too much at this post, please let me introduce myself so i don’t sound like some creepy weirdo popping out of nowhere…

    I have been following and admiring your work and posts for years. I kept tabs on you and your creations and (wow not helping to make myself NOT sound like a weirdo)and somehow i completely missed that you started a blog 😦 I was eager to read and “know more about who i am and what makes me tick” as you put it, has been a wish of mine for quite some time.

    I am an artist and doll-maker too and find your artwork unbelievably wonderful. To say that you are prodigiously talented would be an understatement. To read this and discover that some of your early creations have been lost in the garbage bin when i would have gladly bought them for more than you would believe horrifies me!

    Had i known that you would even consider parting with any of your dolls, i would have asked to buy them from you a long time ago…

    I would like to hear from you. I created a blog and, hopefully, maybe we can be friends. 🙂

    ZombieDoll


    • Wow. I really don’t know what to say… It’s hard for me to believe that you’re real! Hahaha. I’m sorry I didn’t reply sooner, I just really don’t know what to say. I haven’t been making dolls lately, or keeping up with my blog at all… My life has been incredibly difficult and at the moment I’m only coping. I hope to get back to work eventually, but at the moment I really don’t have it in me… I have to admit, I haven’t been feeling very good about my art these days, so reading your sweet words have really helped me. I am such a harsh critic of my own work (as I think most people are) and it helps to know that someone likes it so much! I have some new dolls that I made right before I went AWOL, I’ll try to get them posted soon for you. I think you’ll like them, I’ve got a new body pattern and a frog doll that was my first commission piece. Keep an eye out ^.^

      thanks so much ♥

  2. zombiegirlie Says:

    Dear Sovereignfugue,

    I am glad you replied and I yes I am real. 😉 I would love to see your new dolls! I made some dolls and maybe i’ll post them up if you want so you can see Axel and see what you think; I would love some feedback from someone i admire as much as you. I’m sorry you are having such a hard time, times are tough for me too. Not a lot of people to talk to and my creations are in the backburner, but i have been trying out new methods, maybe we could swap techniques?

    love to hear from you’

    zombiedoll

Leave a Reply

