TAH-DAH!! My very first mohair wig ♥

March 10, 2010

I’m so excited! I finally made my first mohair wig! It’s pretty nice, too, even though I singed the edges when I was drying it (in my impatience I put it a bit too close to the wood stove) and it might be a bit thin. The color came out nice, too. It’s sort of black with plum-colored highlights. It definitely wasn’t what I was going for, but it’s nice.

Working with the mohair wasn’t really that much more difficult than the fake silk I used for the other dolls, although I never would have gotten through it so fast and done such a good job with it without Sue from mohairwig.com . I wrote to her 13 times in two days and she was so amazingly sweet and helpful, the wig wouldn’t be here without her (if you’re reading this, thanks Sue!!)

Here she is modeling a nice pair of specs that might very well become hers! Don’t they look lovely?

So, I like her hair, but I still have a bit of a bob-cut in mind for her. I’ve never been too clever when it came to hair-styles, but I thought I could try something sort of curly and Clara Bow-ish. We’ll see if I’m capable of it… I was fairly inept at styling my own hair when I was younger and then I had dreadlocks for five years… so I’m a bit of a novice when it comes to hair, but I’m learning! Here are some photos of my first attempt, she’s still drying but I’ll post when she’s done, too.

I really love these pictures, I don’t know how I ever lived without a camera before! The curlers are just pieces of wire, they worked really well. Her curls are going to be a bit tight and really fat, I might have to do it again, but this is just an experiment. She looks good so far! My pretty little pinhead. I will definitely post some more photos once she’s dry.

4 Responses to “TAH-DAH!! My very first mohair wig ♥”

  1. jenny Says:

    wow, the hair looks so real! well done, all yor creations are amazing!

  2. Cathie Says:

    I just LOVE the glasses!

  3. sue Says:

    Wonderful !! you did a great job !
    sue

Leave a Reply

