Stranger in a Strange Land…

March 13, 2010

So I have a bit of an obsession with books, and I really love graphic novels. Here’s a particularly incredible and inspiring one, “The Arrival” by Shaun Tan :

"The Market" pencil on paper by Shaun Tan

This book is the story of a migrant going to a strange new land and is told completely with pictures, no words. It’s so beautiful and moving, and such a mastery of the art of story telling. The fact that it’s only pictures, in my eyes, makes it no less a novel. In fact, I think it helps the story because words would only muddle the universality of the book.

"The Market" pencil on paper by Shaun Tan from "The Arrival" By Shaun Tan

Personally, I’m not very good with words. It’s so much easier for me to draw or sculpt what I’m thinking and feeling then to come out and say it. And when I try to say it, it’s wrapped in metaphors so that I’m basically putting what I would have draw into words anyway. This book is so beautiful and magical, I wish I owned it so I could look at it every day.

Be sure to check out his website as he has many other projects and books (which aren’t available at my local library so I sadly haven’t read) that are simply incredible: Shauntan.net

Leave a Reply

