Art, any way you can.

April 12, 2010

So I’ve completely lost interest in my art for the time being… I figure a break is probably just what I need. I’ve had a headache almost every day for a week so I haven’t been doing much. Mostly I’ve been playing computer games with Joe ^.^ I’m such a nerd!

But when I’m not lazing about or avoiding looking at my unfinished projects, I’ve been playing with Sarah’s new computer! It’s really fun. Really all I’ve done is play with Garageband for hours and hours. Hey, it’s art of a different flavor! So tonight I pulled out all my implements of music-making. It’s sort of crazy how many instruments we actually own…

Here we go... accordion, typewriter, guitar, banjo, violin and piano. TAH-DAH! (Joe has more instruments, I just don't know how to use them)

As of this moment, all I’ve really used is my accordion and the typewriter (bet you didn’t know I play the typewriter!)… but it’s nice to know the others are there if I want them.

So that’s what’s going on with me. Since I can’t upload any music I make (I’d have to pay extra to do that) I probably wont be posting much this week, unless I have some revelation to share or I get back into my more visual arts.

By the way, I wanted to thank everyone who gave me advice on my last post. You all made me feel so much better about everything, I’m finally able to relax and I no longer feel like I “failed” at any of those half finished projects. And when I get back in the mood for them, I’ll try not to be such a perfectionist!

2 Responses to “Art, any way you can.”

  1. Many Words Says:

    I think losing interest in your art is common when dealing with an anxiety disorder. I know I tend to let mine (writing and photography) fall by the wayside when I’m fluctuating between the spectrum of a bipolar attack. Hang in there. Oh, and your blog is a wonderful read. It’s kind of nice knowing I’m not the only one out there.


    • I think you’re right, my moods and interests swing so wildly from one side to another. One month I have to create art or I feel like I might explode and the next I find myself pacing around my house wishing I was motivated to do something… Anything, really.

      I’m so glad you like my blog! I really want to give what ever voice I can to the prevalence of anxiety problems in this country, you are FAR from alone. There are so many people who feel like we do but hide it too well. Personally, I’m incapable of hiding it, I’ve never been good at hiding my feelings. So I’ll share them with you! ^.^

Leave a Reply

